AgriStability: Step 1. What this program offers

Step 1. What this program offers

Intake period: Open

The deadline to enrol for 2023 AgriStability is April 30, 2023.

New Cash Reference Margin Pilot for the 2022 to 2024 program years

If you farm in Manitoba, New Brunswick, or Newfoundland and Labrador and file your taxes on the cash basis, you can take part in the new AgriStability Cash Reference Margin Pilot for the 2022 to 2024 program years. Under the pilot, you can have your reference margin calculated using the cash income and expenses you report for income tax purposes with no accrual adjustments. To join the pilot, complete and submit a consent form by April 15, 2023.

Important information for Nova Scotia producers

If your farm in Nova Scotia experiences financial challenges in 2022 because of the impacts of post-tropical storm Fiona, AgriStability can help. The governments of Canada and Nova Scotia have agreed to an interim payment rate increase to 75% and late participation for Nova Scotia producers.

AgriStability is one of the business risk management programs under the Canadian Agricultural Partnership. It protects Canadian producers against large declines in farming income for reasons such as production loss, increased costs and market conditions.

AgriStability is a margin based program designed to help producers manage large income declines.

Each year, you must enrol in the program, pay your fee and submit a form by the applicable deadlines.

You may receive a payment if your production margin in the current year falls below your historical reference margin by more than 30%.

Use the AgriStability Benefit Estimator to help you understand how the program works and to calculate an estimated benefit.

For more information on participating, visit Who is eligible? and How to apply.

Read how AgriStability and other business risk management programs helped farms that have faced different disaster situations.

Note: AgriStability is delivered by the federal government in Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Yukon.

AgriStability is delivered provincially in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, and Prince Edward Island.